Early Birthday Celebration

Took my pot to a surprise birthday dinner on Saturday night….the dinner wasnt a surprise – the location was. I managed to keep it a secret for a week, including his birthday pressie.

Carcosa Seri Negara - very old and pretty. When you go inside the foyer, it makes you go "wow", especially at night. Other than that...it felt kinda eerie...as if you were in the twillight zone...

Carcosa Seri Negara - very old and pretty. When you go inside the foyer, it makes you go "wow", especially at night. Other than that...it felt kinda eerie...as if you were in the twillight zone...

I had made reservations a few days before for ‘The Dining Room’ which had  French ala-carte, set menu or degustation set menu – which I later found to be featuring the same items. It wasn’t suprising, considering there were only a handful of patrons there.

As we entered The Dining Room, a pianist was playing a repertoire of light music, and it certainly felt as if you were in some old, rich colonial dining room. Curiously, everyone there was caucasian. The service was rather sincere but fairly disappointing in standards. You could hear the clanking of plates and cutlery from the kitchen during intermission (of the piano recital).

Food wise – everything was fresh, but nothing super spectacular or memorable. The main dish was the wagyu tenderloin which was very tender.

What I guess was one of our favs - foie gras with Fuji Apple with something something sauce.

What I guess was one of our favs - foie gras with Fuji Apple with something something sauce.

It was rather romantic, but somehow the emptiness of the place, plus rich carpeting made it feel rather eerie.

And my pot couldnt wait to open his pressie, here’s a glimpse:

I had designed this photobook (coffeetable book) of pictures from our Italy trip, and had it made by Photobook.com (Malaysia). It was worth all the effort and money.

I had designed this photobook (coffeetable book) of pictures from our Italy trip, and had it made by Photobook.com (Malaysia). It was worth all the effort and money.

I would say that I let the pics speak for themselves, and yes, show alittle of our characters and personalities...

I would say that I let the pics speak for themselves, and yes, show alittle of our characters and personalities...

This has to be my favourite 2 page spread - picture of the cigarette-smoking street artist doing a portrait sketch of my other half.

This has to be my favourite 2 page spread - picture of the cigarette-smoking street artist doing a portrait sketch of my other half.

This is a great personal gift, and it took quite some effort, considering we had been trigger happy and snapping away about a thousand over photographs or more during the trip. A colleague of mine Jimmy had given me this great website. Google it under photobook malaysia. I found out that they are a franchise but wholly a Malaysian one.

Have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

