Beach bunny: Day 1

Today was rather uneventful. I just realised how much FUN it is being on a beach holiday with none other than yourself. You head to the beach solitary, scan around for some empty deck chairs and everyone else are in twos or groups. Then you walk around with your only friend, The Camera, and honestly gets alittle bit depressing. You snap away here and there and then walk around abit more then head back to the room, kinda not knowing really what to do with yourself.

I Lie – I knew what to do with myself –  shopping!

There are 2 shopping centers in Mactan, one called Shoemart and another called Ayala. When they said Shoemart, some Kota Raya-like establishment appeared in my mind. I asked the shuttle bus driver if it was safe to go there on my own. He said “Its safe Mum” but looked alittle perplexed on why i should ask.

Anyway, surprisingly the shops were not bad – they had Promod, Charles and Keith, Mango, Crumpler, Crocs etc.Back to the hotel, I had, for the first time in my life, gone for a bit of waxing…only 2 words to describe it…NOT PAINLESS. Then I had my hair and nails done.

I did not have the time to go to the Chi Spa…I realise you can only pamper yourself so much in a day – it really gets kinda tiresome. Endlessly flipping through magazines isnt the best way to spend the whole day isnt it? But anyway, after the gale of a time i had waxing, I thought i really deserved some sinful spa time.

So – back to the products of my solitude today…

The water is as clear as they claimed in brochures. Fab! I probably will do some solitary snorkeling tomorrow....

The water is as clear as they claimed in brochures. Fab! I probably will do some solitary snorkeling tomorrow....

Just another angle from the overhead deck - can you see little fishies? I can't.

Just another angle from the overhead deck - can you see little fishies? I can't.

Pool no. 2 - its quite pretty. You see alot of people lounging about. Suprise or not, there are heaps of Korean people here

Pool no. 2 - its quite pretty. You see alot of people lounging about. Suprise or not, there are heaps of Korean people here

Beach area - question - do how I get a picture of myself Parasailing?

Beach area - question - do how I get a picture of myself Parasailing?

You see alot of guys dangling precariously on these 'whatchumacall-it' things in town

You see alot of guys dangling precariously on these 'whatchumacall-it' things in town

Scenic ride - the view from the Mandaue-Mactan bridge on the way into town

Scenic ride - the view from the Mandaue-Mactan bridge on the way into town

OK – I refuse to post my elegant self portraits I self-took. Sigh!

Lets hope tomorrow dawns bigger, brighter and filled with promise.

XO

One thought on “Beach bunny: Day 1

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

