Roaring success! Cebu Beach DUMMY Day #2

I am now in a state of COMPLETE exhilaration from the first half of the day (and what i must say is 100% value day ever!) Day 2 in Cebu.

As I have willed today (from yesterday’s post) to be a brilliant day, IT totally was.

First – I started out with the easy sh*t. Kayaking. We were bounded by a parameter maybe a kilometer from the beach, and the kayak guide gave me 5-6 buns for fish feeding. I was like “wah, so many buns!” and he said “There are alot of fish out there, Mum!”

The deck chair by the beach which I never got to lounge on.

The deck chair by the beach which I never got to lounge on.

Pushing off - come 'ere little fishies!

Pushing off - come 'ere little fishies!

There were heapppps for little fishies and some (by my standards) rather large fishies, and they were amazing!!! The fishes swam in schools and (sorry my aqua knowledge is pretty sh*t – dont know what species they are) – best I can describe them – little yellow and blue stripped and little blue longish ones (looked like Dory) and some zebra fish. They were snapping at the bread crumbs I dropped and were only 1 foot away from me.

After baking in the sun for about 45 minutes, I rowed back (pretty quickly may I add!) and headed for my next adventure.

The problem with me is that I never think before I do. I just DO! I thought Parasailing – pooh! nothing compared to sky diving, right? NOTE: I have never been skydiving and prolly never will collect enough guts to do it. So hell yeah, parasailing it is.

There were 3 categories:

1. Standard – 150 metres up

2. Deluxe – 250 metres up

3. MAGNUM – 350 metres up

The auditor and libran in me was compelled to do the Deluxe (i Forgot – just how high is 250 metres? Shrugg).

I had to sign this and of course, a disclaimer thing.

Not very cheap for a 12 min ride, hey? PHP 4,480 = about RM400.

Not very cheap for a 12 min ride, hey? PHP 4,480 = about RM400.

Suddenly, my nerves kicked in. Was just told I had to take a boat out to sea to do it - not do a run from the beach (pooh, those were for the kiddies). Can you see the poorly concealed look of terror on my face?

Suddenly, my nerves kicked in. Was just told I had to take a boat out to sea to do it - not do a run from the beach (pooh, those were for the kiddies). Can you see the poorly concealed look of terror on my face?

The boat specially for parasailing. On a busy day, this boat takes about 40 people up to space.

The boat specially for parasailing. On a busy day, this boat takes about 40 people up to space.

I climbed on to the boat with my shaking toothpick legs. The two guides were literally shining with happy smiles. One of them reconfirmed “DELUXE right??”

I stuttered “Why? Is that very high? Could I maybe do a standard now?”

They grinned and said “DELUXE is good, Mum. Thats about the highest you can do today because the Magnum is too high – the wind today is too strong”

My legs turned abit more jelly-ish.

I had to get my kit on.

Which one is my left and right leg again?

Which one is my left and right leg again?

Harnessing up my terror ride. Things really moved too quickly for my liking. These people are too damn efficient. They dont give you a chance to back out, do they?

Harnessing up my terror ride. Things really moved too quickly for my liking. These people are too damn efficient. They dont give you a chance to back out, do they?

After a few brief safety instructions, and me giving him instructions on how to use my camera - i was up and away.

After a few brief safety instructions, and me giving him instructions on how to use my camera - i was up and away.

THIS was how high up I was. I could see the entire island (shaped like a edamame).

THIS was how high up I was. I could see the entire island (shaped like a edamame).I maximised this pic for FULL effect.

At first when i was going up, i thought oooh this is easy. BUT then i kept going up and up and up until I could see the kayak which I rode on earlier shrinking to the size of my last fingernail. Suddenly I thought Gawd – I think I’m going to get a panick attack. I told myself “Stay Calm, stay clam, keep cool, keep cool”. The guide had told me – “Dont worry Mum, in case you have any emergency up there, swing your arm in a circle and I will bring you back down”.

20 seconds later, i was swinging my arm in circles (only after i dared risk release the killer grip I had on my harness). No, nothing happened. I was expecting to slowly float back to earth, BUT NO, they didnt see me or maybe ignore me. I gave up after a while cos the wind picked up and jerked me about abit.

Before the lift off, the guide told me “In case this boat engine stalls, dont worry you will come back down into the water and you wait there, we will come to get you”.

About halfway through the ride, the boat stopped – right in the middle of the ocean. I would have made a crossing-myself motion if I dared to remove my killer grip. And I was sinking to the ocean. MUST BE MY LUCKY DAY TO HAVE THE ENGINE STALL RIGHT?? I KNEW IT!!!

This is the tease of the century - they dipped my legs into the water and I got yanked up again - much to my dismay. I thought "Gawd, I thought it was over"

This is the tease of the century - they dipped my legs into the water and I got yanked up again - much to my dismay. I thought "Gawd, I thought it was over"

So anyways, since i was up there, I enjoyed the sights. It was really breezy and peaceful and really really beautiful. Yet, I waved my arm in a circle again. I felt my rope yank and I jerked about again…thinking WTF????

After what seemed like a lifetime and back, I finally started to float downwards back to the boat.

Yes - well done, my friend. "Pat, pat, pat"

Yes - well done, my friend. "Pat, pat, pat"

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

