Barbie time!

If you haven’t noticed, I havent been updating my blog as pertinently as I should have. This is all due to the sucky internet connection at home. The wifi doesnt work, so we only have the one computer working, the desktop (on which the Warcraft [WOW] characters come alive all day and late into the night). So in between afternoons away from home and the nightly incessant tussle for the PC with the WOW addict/PC hogger, I get almost zilch PC time at all.

The weekend was eventful, with the celebration of my Future MIL’s birthday party (age kept MUM, get it?!) The barbie for approx. 50 pax took about 2 days to prepare….starting from that morning at the wet market (Friday) which I had previously blogged about. We even had a whole lamb to roast -but that wasn’t my department. I had been fiercely in charge of my tomato and tuna mayo bruschettas’ (none of which, I noted, to my satisfaction, had been left over.)

Can you see my well chopped English Parsley - ready for my bruschettas. Chopping with a vengence!

Can you see my well chopped English Parsley - ready for my bruschettas. Chopping with a vengence!

Step one - get dozens of Live crabs

Step one - get dozens of Live crabs

(Warning: Do not examine photo if you have a weak stomach): Step two: Cull the crabs mercifully. QUickest method.

(Warning: Do not examine photo if you have a weak stomach): Step two: Cull the crabs mercifully. Quickest method.

Step three: Have little kids play with them to ensure the crabs are really dead.

Step three: Have little kids play with them to ensure the crabs are really dead.

Step four: Prepare steam bath for crabs before they are taken to the BBQ grill

Step four: Prepare steam bath for crabs before they are taken to the BBQ grill

Last step: Grill the crabs - and ready to eat. Easy peasy.

Last step: Grill the crabs - and ready to eat. Easy peasy.

Party prep: This was the calm before the storm.

Party prep: This was the calm before the storm.

The storm came in at about 7.30pm. It was calm, and suddenly it hit everything. Wine glasses blew away and broke into halves, the table cloths were flung far and wide. The keyboardist and performer for the evening could hardly cover his equipment fast enough and hired help were drenched. It was like a typhoon – maybe it was one!

By 9 ish, the storm had cleared. Now the party really began. At midnight, there was cake cutting and the symbolic releasing of the birds.

I shall call these swallows - dont shoot a girl for not knowing her birds!

I shall call these swallows - dont shoot a girl for not knowing her birds!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

