A warm heart – Vern’s Penang memorial 1

Mum, Jeen and I just got back from Penang after Vern’s wonderful memorial held by his Pinang ACE mates at his school. I have come back firstly, quite exhausted from the day trip, and secondly, we are comforted by the beautiful ‘brothers and sisters’ at Pinang ACE and how much his mates loved him. His mates had prepared a little scrapbook with notes to us his family, talking about Vern and their 9 months with him. They also made another scrapbook with all his original doodles and drawings from his workpapers which they had saved.

It is moving, heartwarming, touching and so so wonderful to have all his original drawings and writings. As Sister Julia said, all Vern’s friends at Pinang ACE are little angels. I will show these on my blog tomorrow.

Pastor Clement also stayed up late last night preparing an updated version of a DVD picture slide with updates pictures and songs. Again, watching the video made my tears roll non-stop cos I miss Vernie! I took some videos of the memorial today – snippets, really, taken with the G10, not a real DV Cam, but I’ll be posting this on youtube tomorrow and will announce on my blog when I manage to upload everything.

I will ‘story’ more about the memorial service tomorrow morning when my mind isn’t ‘swimming’ but I will leave with a pic from today.

At Vern's school memorial today - Front row L-R: Granny, Uncle Eng and Aunty Betty, Aunty Betty Kuo and Me. Granny is wiping her tears...

At Vern's school memorial today - Front row L-R: Granny, Uncle Eng and Aunty Betty, Aunty Betty Kuo and Me. Granny is wiping her tears...

We managed to have tea at Starbucks in Gurney Plaza after the memorial service. It brought much sadness to me because the last time I was here, I went with Vernie when he was 14 in 2006 to use the WiFi. He waited patiently for me to finish using the laptop, after which I went shopping while he went online very happily.

Starbucks Gurney Plaza: Vern and I had sat on one of the wooden tables inside, 2nd row from the entrance.

Starbucks Gurney Plaza: Vern and I had sat on one of the wooden tables inside, 2nd row from the entrance, in 2006 Chinese New Year.

I purchased a book called “There is more to the secret” today and Jeen and I read it on the plane. It was written by a Pastor and touched on the law of attraction, and bringing God and our faith into the equation. A very heart warming and interesting read. One of the things he said was that God has a divine plan and purpose for all of us even before we are born.

Ok, Mozzies are biting me right, left and centre. I think its time for me to go to bed. To be continued…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

