Of Nuts, Deer, Snakes and Taufoo

Hi all – its been a record 5 days since I last posted something. Ode to my busy weekend and my subsequent grogginess.

Last weekend, we (very uncharacteristically) headed out to the Sempalit Groundnut factory, the Tauhu Factory in Raub followed by the Kuala Gandah Elephant Sanctuary and Deerland. (What? What and where are these places you ask?)

Yes, I dont think these places are very well publicised except among local tourist bus establishments but it was kinda interesting. At the Tauhu place and the groundnut factory – we were entertained for just about 5 seconds after which we entertained ourselves while the aunties were busy buying heaps of ‘Shandong’ groundnuts and drinking “Tau Cheong” Soy Bean Milk.

This is what I call self entertainment - posing!

This is what I call self entertainment - posing!

More self entertainment

More self entertainment - gosh I look so spazzo

Jeen "shoveling" at the nut factory - can't tell that this is a 'posed' pic right?

Jeen "shoveling" at the nut factory - can't tell that this is a 'posed' pic right?

Then it was on to the Tauhu ‘factory’ – very much a hit (and MISS!). All we enjoyed was pretty good ‘tau cheong’ while the crowd watched the process of making tauhu (in Mandarin!)

"Hmm...." Not bad ....

"Hmm...." Not bad ....

One of the cute deer in Deerland.

One of the cute deer in Deerland.

Im not sure how many species of deer there are, but this breed was very tame and gentle. We had the opportunity to feed the deer running around us, most of them about waist high and some of them taller (with small horns). They were all very gentle although when they stood on their hind legs to reach up for food, they were a teeny bit scary. It was amazing the way they used their luscious lips to take the fruit from your hands, it was as if they were toothless.

Spotted Deer - looking so graceful. They ran at the slightest sounds - and man, they are quick! They are also very pretty

Spotted Deer - looking so graceful. They ran at the slightest sounds - and man, they are quick! They are also very pretty

Oh the thrills of being close to nature once in every 10 years or so! - The enthusiastic nature bugs!

Oh the thrills of being close to nature once in every 10 years or so! - The enthusiastic nature bugs! The eager beavers! L-R: Mum, Ee Ling, Jeen, Mua

A First~! Baby python around my neck! Snake skin is indeed smooth but not slimy. And it was like a slithering mass of muscles moving. It kept trying to go round my neck - hence my facial expression.

A First~! Baby python around my neck! Snake skin is indeed smooth but not slimy. And it was like a slithering mass of muscles moving. It kept trying to go round my neck - hence my facial expression.

Its a cute honey bear eating KFC! It was kinda sweaty! Jeen, Me, Ee Ling.

Its a cute honey bear eating KFC! It was kinda sweaty! Jeen, Me, Ee Ling.

Let me introduce Sonic the hedgehog

Let me introduce Sonic the hedgehog

My body ached and groaned that night – and I was in bed by 1030pm. Now I just have to wait another 10 years for the next naturistic excursion. I’ll blog more about the elephants in another post.

One thought on “Of Nuts, Deer, Snakes and Taufoo

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

