Too busy for God?

Yes, the above states the obvious. I have been such a busy bee lately that I feel I have not 1 but 2 but 3 jobs!

I have a regular job, then I have my wedding planning work and then I have my ROM planning work. Talk about heaps of things to do.

Anyways, the point I was coming to was….I have been feeling very guilty lately for…..NOT SPENDING enough TIME with God. I have been rushing up and down, feeling elated on my birthday, travelling somewhat, working on my wedding invites (hey, designing a card aint easy) and squeezing in social commitments in that timeline among everything else.

Suffice to say I have more or less BACKSLIDED. What? Already?!

Well of course I am still doing my nightly prayers and I find myself squeezing in my prayer in between lunch time, while I’m in the bathroom, while I am combing my hair or getting ready for work. Not enough commitment, God says.

Tonight I planned to sit myself down and catch up on my Bible reading. Before I did that, I sent off some work emails, was internally debating if I should spend an hour updating my blog, paying bills and EVERY OTHER thing that did not relate to God.

I decided – OK its 11pm. Now I should start reading the Bible and spending some time with God, something I have not done consistently for the past 3 weeks. Not to mention I havent gone to church for the past 3 weeks due to my travels.

So I decided to click on My Daily Bread (http://www.rbc.org/odb/odb.shtml) (which i used to click on daily, mind you) today, after a 3 week absence. As the name suggests, daily stories and notes are updated and written here -like Chicken Soup for the Christian Soul.

And this is what God said tonight through this website:

In data collected from over 20,000 Christians in 139 countries, The Obstacles to Growth Survey found that, on average, more than 40 percent of Christians around the world say they “often” or “always” rush from task to task. About 60 percent of Christians say that it’s “often” or “always” true that the busyness of life gets in the way of developing their relationship with God. It’s clear that busyness does distract us from our fellowship with Him.

It seems that Martha too allowed busyness to distract her from spending time with Jesus. When she welcomed Him and His disciples into her home, she was occupied with preparing the food, washing their feet, and making sure they were comfortable. All of these things had to be done, but Luke seems to intimate that Martha’s busyness in preparation degenerated into busywork that distracted her from reflecting on Jesus’ words and enjoying time with Him (Luke 10:38-42).

What about us? Are we rushing from task to task, allowing the busyness of life and even work for Jesus to distract us from enjoying sweet fellowship with Him? Let’s ask God to help us diminish our distractions by making Jesus our focus.  — Marvin Williams

Lord, I don’t want to miss out on moments of intimacy with You. Help me not to be so busy that I fail to devote time each day to prayer and reading Your Word. Amen.

If you are too busy for God, you are too busy.

4 thoughts on “Too busy for God?

  1. oh man…this is the 2nd reminder today that i have been too busy and lazy to spend time with God. The first was at the zone leaders’ meeting that my cell leaders asked me to attend today. Ps Daniel shared that we need to build:
    1. faithfulness in prayer
    2. fervency in prayer
    3. faith

    And how do we cultivate faith?
    1. receiving teaching on faith
    2. association with ppl of faith
    3. atmosphere (similar to #2)
    4. DISCIPLINE

    So when Ps Chris asked us to evaluate ourselves in all the areas above, walau….found myself seriously lacking. Then came here and got a 2nd reminder. I think God means business with me haha.

    Thanks for being the 2nd prick on my conscience =p

    • Eels – haha it was God prolly working on you through my blog! Are you training to be a CG leader? Maybe I will join ur CG! haha

  2. hahahaha….ERRRR…my cell leaders are HOPING and PRAYING that me and my accountability partner will step up to become cell leader interns. BUUTTTT….i duno man….we’re not ready for the commitment! haha…

    But you’re welcome to join my cg if you like =) Dont need to wait till i lead a cg lah…..u might be waiting a long time! =p

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

