Vern’s 17th Birthday Party – In Memory of Vernie Poo

The GENG at Sate Kajang last nigh

The GENG at Sate Kajang last night

Thank you everyone – Lee San, Michelle, Cindy, Tina and everyone else who wrote me thoughtful notes and smses or left comments on my “Vernie Poo” post.

It is indeed ‘shitty’ season where the terrible missing-ness of Vern surfaces. I don’t know how many more empty birthdays I can handle. Have you ever had to celebrate a birthday for someone who wasn’t there? Pray share your experience. Excruciating, how we had to keep up smiles while our hearts were like lead.

Dinner was a simple affair – Vern’s friends all gathered at our house after dinner. I had to zip away to Ms Tan’s (Shirley’s) surprise birthday dinner but I shall story that in another post…

While I wasnt at home during the after dinner party, there was a cake brought out and everyone sang happy birthday to Vern. I’m sure he heard it from Heaven.

We had a scrapbook or – call it an ‘autograph’ book with more sophisticated content – for all Vern’s friends to write on. I will consider doing this every year…just so we all have an avenue of writing our hearts out to Vern.

Sophira writing in a scrapbook for Vern

Sophira writing in a scrapbook for Vern

All Vern’s friends took turns writing in the scrapbook – I haven’t seen the finished product but I wait for it with mixed feelings. It’s going to be heartwarming and sad at the same time. If you are reading this and you know Vern, and you want to put in an entry into Vern’s scrapbook please email me your input, or scan your letter 🙂

Doing Vern's signature pose

Doing Vern's signature pose - Jeen, Dad and Mum

Terrence, Yvonne and Zoe - some of Vern's mates

Terrence, Yvonne and Zoe - some of Vern's mates

Jeen and Annie

Jeen and Annie - again with Vern's pose

Zoe, Mua and Ron (Annie says he stole the limelight in this pic!!! I AGREE! and SO DOES HE!)

Zoe, Mua and Ron (Annie says he stole the limelight in this pic!!! I AGREE! and SO DOES HE!)

And last but not least – my brother Vern. He must have enjoyed the show from up there.

max,tze,sarah n jer - Vern at the back

max,tze,sarah n jer - Vern at the back

We miss you Vern!

We miss you Vern!

Vern – we’ve gone through the pain of seeing you in hospital, seeing you without life, going through your funeral. And yet, I cannot understand that you are gone. I cannot understand how suddenly you could ‘disappear’.

We miss you very much, love you very much. Happy early 17th birthday Vernie.

2 thoughts on “Vern’s 17th Birthday Party – In Memory of Vernie Poo

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

