Divine….

U-Divine…

Have you heard of it? Well not since yesterday, I havent. I might be one of the last people on KL who hasnt, and if it wasnt for a friend leaving me to speak with clients, I wouldnt have wandered off to the concourse area of BSC….and found myself in a terrible predicament.

I almost had to do a double take – how can Andy Lau still look so good after 300 years? Darn it!

I have tried several other massage chairs in my lifetime and this one takes the cake! It is even capable of stretching your body! And the capsule around the head area delivers music to your ears – the sales assistant plugged in her iphone and voila (carefully selected orchestra music, no less) I was sent to another plane on earth.The darn thing also twists and turns your body to a certain extend and the kneading at your neck area is quite accurate.

They claim it to be a 3D machine – not sure which part of it is 3D, but the Sales Assistant claims that at this pricetag Rm13,888, you actually SAVE money from going to the masseur! i did the math and it would give you about 154 (90 minute) massages. In one year, there are 52 weeks, i.e. 52 massage sessions, so you have paid for 3 years’ worth of massages. Do you think this thing will last 3 years!? Probably. But to compare it to the oily hands of a masseur….I think not.

One thing is true though, you save time driving and parking to and fro from the massage place. And I guess you would also sit on this more often than once per week for 90 minutes. Once thing great about it is the leg / calf action you’re getting. The pulls and squeezes are relaxing. I also love the way this thing squeezes your upper arms and hips area. And I mean, squeeze!!

I said to the Sales Assistant….well….my hubby needs to try it first (she thought the sale was in the bag after my oohing and aahing, I’m sure) and she says….I’m sure if you are paying it with your own money, your hubby doenst need to approve.! My own eyebrow went up. I think she meant that I’m an empowered woman…

Anyway, its unlikely that a wife would bring home a RM13,888 monster into her living room without first consulting her husband, right?

So I dragged it abit further and said doubtfully,” Well….my hubby is on the larger side, so how would i know he’s going to fit in it comfortably? After all, i’m quite skinny and this thing is squeezing me really hard already!” Its pretty well padded too.

“Oh no worry!” said the lady and she whipped out her iphone again with a picture of a pretty obese looking dude sitting in the chair. “IS YOUR HUBBY BIGGER THAN THIS?”

I had to laugh. Ronnie would be so offended with all this witty banter  (Honey, you arent even close to that!)

Again i said to her…”Well that man in the picture fits in OK, but how would you know he is comfortable?” She said to me,”Look at his face! He’s happy and look, there is even extra space around his hips and shoulders!” Again I laughed because she spoke so earnestly, and I could not see the extra space. At all.

Anyway, her point was proven because the dude was very tall and had a very very big tummy. The kind that folds a few times instead of being one big keg.

So OK, now she delivers the clincher (after treating me to a total of 30 minutes massage)….”Its promotion weekend, only until Sunday (2 days away) and we are giving away a foot massager worth RM2,000. Normal price is about RM17,000 for the chair ONLY”. Sounds like a great deal, huh? And she starts rattling off about what colours she has in stock.

And then I deliver the final word…the dreaded words….”thanks, I’ll think about it”. To prove my sincerity, I took a picture and emailed to my hubby….”Darling, can I buy this!?” To which, I received….NO REPLY! So thats that. Sayonara U-Divine….

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

